Detroit Board of Education

  • Detroit Public Schools Community District Board of Education

    Detroit Public Schools Community District welcomed its new board of education at a public swearing-in ceremony at Cass Technical High School on January 11, 2017. The ceremony officially ushered in the return of the school district to local control under the governance of the seven-member board. The purpose of the locally elected board is to serve as the governing body of the District and to provide public education services to children residing within the geographic boundaries of the City of Detroit. The Board is fundamentally a policy-making or legislative body rather than an administrative body. It is the responsibility of the Board to see that schools are operated properly, and not to administer them directly. Please reference the DPSCD Bylaws for more information about the Board located in the documents section on this page.

    The members of the board are:

    • Dr. Iris Taylor, President (4 yr. term)
    • Angelique Peterson-Mayberry, Vice President (6 yr. term)
    • Misha Stallworth, Secretary (4 yr. term)
    • Sonya Mays, Treasury (4 yr. term)
    • Dr. Deborah Hunter-Harvill (2 yr. term
    • Georgia Lemmons (6 yr. term)
    • LaMar Lemmons (2 yr. term)

    Board Appointments are:

    • Academics Committee Chair – Dr. Deborah Hunter-Harvill
    • Detroit Public Schools Foundation (DPSF) – Angelique Peterson-Mayberry
    • Finance Committee Chair – Sonya Mays
    • Michigan Association of School Boards (MASB) – LaMar Lemmons
    • Wayne County Association of School Boards (WCAS) – Misha Stallworth



    Members elected to the initial DPSCD Board (the “Initial Board”) shall be elected at the first November regular election date as established under section 641 of the Michigan election law, MCL 168.641, that occurs at least 90 days after July 1, 2016.

    The two members of this Initial Board receiving the highest vote totals in that election among the 7 members elected shall be elected for a term of 6 years, the 3 members of the Initial Board receiving the next highest vote totals in that election among the 7 members elected shall be elected for a term of 4 years, and the 2 members of the Initial Board receiving the lowest vote totals in that election among the 7 members elected shall be elected for a term of 2 years.

    Upon expiration of the terms of the Initial Board members, each member of the Board shall be elected at the November regular election date for a term of 4 years beginning on January 1 following the member’s election.

    The term of a member of the elected Board shall begin on January 1 following the member’s election and has duration as provided by law and continues until a successor is elected and qualified.


    Communicating with the Board

    The DPSCD Board hosts monthly board meeting and sub-committee meetings. In addition, the board hosts quarterly community meetings for the general public to learn about the latest news. Board Member Misha Stallworth also hosts a general public board training session each quarter to help individuals understand how a board functions and how to understand what goes on during board meetings. Please check the calendar for dates, locations and times. If you have any questions or require accessibility needs, please contact the Board Secretary, Karen Morgan in advance of an upcoming meeting.


  • BoardDocs is the District’s cloud-based, board management system that provides access to all board agendas. It is home to a searchable online index of agendas, board packets, minutes and policies. Stay in touch with district policies and procedures, follow along during board meetings and navigate the District’s paperless school board system.

    Visit BoardDocs to view:

    • Agendas
    • Packets
    • Minutes
    • Policies

    Board Docs

Contact Us

Key Documents