Return to Headlines

2nd Annual Educators of the Year Gala

On Thursday, May 9, Detroit Public Schools Community District hosted its 2nd Annual Educators of the Year Gala at the Roostertail in Detroit. The event honored the District's exceptional staff of teachers, administrators, paraprofessionals, principals and more. The honorees were nominated based on exemplifying the district’s core values and priorities outlined in the strategic plan, Blueprint 2020, and it's without a doubt these winners have and continue to put our students first.  

For a complete list of winners, see below:

2019 DPSCD Teacher of the Year

Imelya Eberhardt-Ellison, Bagley Elementary-Middle School



2019 DPSCD Rookie Teacher of the Year

Gabriella Hartman, Munger Elementary-Middle School 

Rookie Teacher of the Year


2019 DFT Instructional Support Staff of the Year

Michelle Whitlow Johnson, Drew Transition Center 

Ms. Whitlow


2019 Principal of the Year

Maria Hernandez-Martinez, Roberto Clemente Learning Academy 

Principal of the Year


2019 Assistant Principal of the Year 

Cornelius Pearson, Carstens Academy of Aquatic Science 

Assistant Principal of the Year


2019 District Administrator of the Year

Sgt. David Wallace, DPSCD Police Department 

David Wallace


2019 OSAS School-Based Adminstrator of the Year

Rodney Hall, Bagley Elementary School of Journalism and Technology 



2019 DAEOE Administrative Support of the Year

Latanya Littlejohn, East English Village Preparatory Academy 



2019 DFP Paraprofessional of the Year 

Earnestine Beamon, John R. King Academic & Performing Arts Academy 

Earnestine Beamon


2019 AFSCME Paraprofessional of the Year 

Gina Goodman, Marcus Garvey Academy

Augustine Pickett



MDE Regional Teacher of the Year

Michele Pizzo, Davison Elemetary-Middle School 

Michele Pizzo


Partner of the Year

The Kresge Foundation



The Kresge Foundation