Enrollment Process

  •  

    If you have any questions, please contact Nicole Burrell at nicole.burrell@detroitk12.org   

     

    Audition Process/Requirements

    All Students:

    At the beginning of your video, please state the following:

    Your name 

    Your grade that you will enter in the Fall of 2021 

    Your age 

    The name of the school that you are coming from

    Previous experiences in the art that you are auditioning for

    Why you would like to attend Detroit School of Arts

     

     Dance

     Dance 2

    Dance Teachers:

    Demetrius Shields (demetrius.shields@detroitk12.org)

    Shannon Palmer (shannon.palmer@detroitk12.org)

    Students must dress appropriately for dance audition as follows: 

    Ladies: Black Leotard, Skin-Tone Tights (footless) ▪ Hair off face, in a bun 

    Gentleman: Black Jazz Pants, White Tee-Shirt 

    Students must demonstrate the following:

    Roll Down in 1st position (turned out) 

    Demi-Plie & Grand Plie in 1st position, 2nd position, and 5th position (turned out) 

    4Tendu (Front, side, back, side), Both Legs (turned out) 

    Degage (Front, side, back, side), Both Legs (turned out)

    Battement (Front, side, back, side), Both Legs (turned out) 

    Record and submit a one (1) minute solo dance selection. 

    No costumes

     

     

    Instrumental Music

    Instrumental2

     

    Instrumental Teachers:

    Victoria Fernholz (victoria.fernholz@detroitk12.org)

    Maritza Garibay (maritza.garibay@detroitk12.org

    Submit a video of yourself performing a solo or ensemble excerpt of at least one minute in length. 

    Please submit a photo copy of the sheet music 

    Do not play music "from memory." We want to see how well you perform music that has been assigned to you by a teacher. 

    Please submit a video from your most recent concert.

    Please include information about the title of the pieces and the composers. 

    If you do not have the ability to provide any of the prior options, please provide contact information to your school music teacher (email preferred). We will reach out to them to ask them questions regarding your skill level and overall rehearsal etiquette to assess your audition.

     

     

    Vocal Music
    Vocal2

    Vocal Teachers:

    Cheryl Valentine (cheryl.valentine@detroitk12.org)

    Ashley Hoke (ashley.hoke@detroitk12.org

    Submit a video of yourself singing “Lift Every Voice and Sing” or “The Star-Spangled Banner” (one verse- acapella) 

    Submit a video of yourself singing “Happy Birthday To You” (Traditional) 

    Auditions for the Detroit School of Arts Vocal Department will include singing "The National Anthem" or "Lift Ev'ry Voice and Sing", and a song of the student's choice (operatic, contemporary, classical or spiritual).

    Students must also complete an instructional and theory evaluation.

     

     Multimedia Production

    Radiotv2

     

    Multimedia Production Teachers:

    Clinton Chico (Clinton.chico@detroitk12.org)

    Shari Fiore (shari.fiore@detroitk12.org)

    Beverly Morrison-Green (Beverly.morrison-gre@detroitk12.org)

    Donald Walker (Donald.walker@detroitk12.org

    Submit examples of technical or media projects that you have filmed, built, designed, recorded, produced, and/or repaired.

    This may include, among other things:

    a short film/video made on a smartphone

    a recording of an original piece of music

    a piece of mechanical equipment that has been adapted or repaired

    or a recording of an original radio show/podcast.

    No formal training is required. 

    All content must be school appropriate meaning free from profanity and other inappropriate content

     

     

     

    Visual Arts
    Art

     

    Visual Arts & Design Teachers:

    Kim Hildebrandt-Hall (kim.hildebrandt-hall@detroitk12.org)

    Mikwonjilian Antwih (mikwonjilian.antwih@detroitk12.org

    Submit a PowerPoint Presentation with photographs of 8-10 original pieces of work 

    Answer on Video the following Additional Questions:

    Describe your art work.

    What inspired you to create this?

    What is your work a reflection of? 

    Talk us through your creative process. 

    Describe the elements of Art present in your work. 

    Describe the principals of design in your work. 

    Submit an essay that discusses Why Art is your discipline of choice & What you hope to achieve at DSA. (1-page, Typed, Times New Roman, 12pt font.) 

     

    Theatre/Drama

    Theatre

     

    Theatre Teacher:

    Jennifer Leija (jennifer.leija@detroitk12.org

    Submit a recording of yourself performance a memorized two-minute monologue on a topic of your choice.  

    Your performance may be comedy, drama, classic, or contemporary.  

    It can (but it is NOT required to) include music if student would like to showcase singing and dancing skills.  

    Students who focus on technical theatre (costumes, light, sound, set construction, stage management) may submit pages from a prompt book, technical portfolio, or other evidence of their technical theatre skills.

    The goal of the audition is to showcase the skills of the applicant. 

     

     

    Literary Arts (9th Grade Only)

     

     
    Literary Arts Teacher:
     
    Beverly Morrison-Green (Beverly.morrison-gre@detroitk12.org)
     
    Submit a portfolio including samples of your original writing. These may include, among others, the following forms:
      • Poetry
      • Short story
      • Scripts
      • Playwriting
      • Screenwriting