Clubs and Organizations

  • Lit World Girls

    LitWorld is a global organization which seeks to provide girls access to high quality literature and literary experiences.
    It consists of a curriculum which focuses on 7 strengths: Friendship, Curiosity, Belonging, Kindness, Courage, Confidence and Hope. Clubs explore the 7 strengths through role play, literature and team building activities.

    Contact person: Tricia Barnes - tricia.cunningham-barnes@detroitk12.org

     

    Cooking Instruction

    "Cooking With Ms. Carey"

    This PBL provides information about the fundamentals of cooking such as: preparation, sanitation, ingredients for specific recipes, measurement, various cooking methods, cooking tools, etc. This PBL is a hands on experience complete with taste testing. Bon appetit!

    Contact person: Bettina Carey -bettina.carey@detroitk12.org

     

    First Robotics Lego Club

    Lego Robotics for elementary students...they learn how to build robots and use coding to program them.

    Contact person:  Emily Smith-emily.smith@detroitk12.org

     

    STEM Club

    During the Winter/Spring session of STEM Club, students investigate principles of science, technology, engineering, and math. Students explore concepts such as Isaac Newton's 3 Laws of Motion using the scientific method. Students identify number patterns using the Hundreds Table. Students explore basic principles of coding. Students also brainstorm, ask questions, and make suggestions of principles they would like to investigate. Teamwork and norms for working within a group are emphasized and reinforced with prizes.

    Contact person: Nancy Carey-nancy.carey@detroitk12.org

     

    Drama

    Drama Club - Role play (skits) school related scenarios, recite monologues, spoken word poetry, and rehearse plays.

    Contact person: Monica Tyson-monica.tyson@detroitk12.org

     

    Go Green

    The PBL program that I have is Go Green. It's consists of myself, two leaders from Go Green who are Josh Musicant and Brianna Young and 23, 3rd-8th graders. Our intentions are to complete specific goals to improve the environment in and around Carver STEM Academy. We have been working with Dr. Cummings and our team to make improvements. We are planning to plant the garden, fix the stone flower bed on the west side of the building, plants bushes and provide signs and trash cans for the playground.

    Contact person: Lynn Chudy-lynn.chudy@detroitk12.org

     

    Sensory Project Based Learning

    Hello,
    In our classroom, which consist of 7 male students with the disability of Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). On every Wednesday in the afternoon our Project Base Learning (PBL) is based on Sensory. We work on our Five Senese on various activities, which may consist of; see, taste, touch, hear, and smell. Student’s with Autism learn best by using; tactile(touch), visual(sight), auditoria(hearing) and sometimes in those areas a student may have two out of the three that are stronger than the other. The students love to work on their sensory activities on Wednesday and I love to see them stay engaged and excited about what’s the “Mystery Sensory activity of the Day”.

    Staff of Room #204
    Mrs. Jeannie Jones, Special Education Provider
    Mrs. Venetta Conley & Mr. Troy Tatum

    Contact person: Jeannie Jones-jeannie.jones@detroitk12.org